top of page
Search

Introduction to Manchester United

Manchester United is a professional football (soccer) club located in Manchester, United Kingdom. The club was founded in 1878, 142 years ago, and has won more trophies than any other club in English football, recording 21 league titles, 12 FA cups, five league cups, three UEFA Champions league, and many more notable trophies.


Manchester United is commonly regarded as one of the best football clubs in history and currently has the third most fans based on social media following, falling behind only Barcelona and Real Madrid. Since I have never attended a live game in the UK, I often utilize social media to engage in discussion with other supporters of English soccer.


Manchester United has always been an important part of my lifestyle, but recently I truly appreciated the sense of being part of such a great community. The Covid-19 pandemic completely altered our way of life and our social interactions. I found myself staying inside with very little excitement in my life; however, watching Manchester United and interacting with other fans gave me something to look forward to.


The weekly soccer games filled a void in my life and helped me create stronger bonds with other fans. I would constantly debate and discuss different topics regarding soccer with my close friends and other members of the community through social media. In the past months, my passion as a supporter has drastically increased.

As I have become more passionate in my following of the club, my opinions and beliefs of the team and it’s future transactions have too. Although Manchester United has the third largest following of any soccer team, they have had trouble living up to their reputation as one of the greatest clubs; The last time United won the Premier League and Champions League was 2011 and 2008, respectively. The recent results have made the community of Manchester United supporters even more vocal.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page