top of page
Search

Musical Motifs

Kerr Hall is considered a unique place to many. The freshman dorm hall provides a charming neighborhood feel, in contrast to the gritty feel of Northeastern University’s central campus. What makes Kerr the most special is its title as home of the musical motifs LLC, or living learning community. Northeastern has many LLC’s, ranging from computer science to community service, but Kerr’s small student population provides for a tight knit community, including a shared love of music. The vast majority of students here play an instrument, sing, or have some involvement in music production, resulting in efficient and timely bonding.

My personal love for music is easily traced to my dad. A large bulk of my music taste is inspired by him, as well as my inspiration to learn to play. My dad has been involved in music his whole life; he plays guitar, piano, violin, sings, and has been in a couple bands. I decided to follow in his footsteps this past summer, teaching myself guitar. I even had a few friends take after me, and soon it became a fixture of our friendships.

I consider myself extremely lucky to be a member of this community, as I had no idea what to expect before I moved. Had I known what was coming, Kerr would have been my first, second, and third choice. It’s tough to say whether our complementing personalities are a result of our love of music, or vice versa. Within a couple weeks of arrival, everyone in the hall was acquainted with one another, creating a type of social network I’d never before encountered. Everyone has their close circle, all of which are part of a broader group. Members of Kerr do everything together, from getting meals to going out on the weekends, and even the occasional jam session out front. Kerr Hall’s unique dynamic enables me to research its communal role as my home. It is one of my favorite places on campus, and I’m very grateful to be a part of this community.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page