top of page
Search

The Brazilian American Community

The community I will be writing about is the Brazilian community within the United States. As a Brazilian immigrant in the United States, I have been a part of this community for over a decade since immigrating here from Brazil in 2007. However, having been raised in a small town without a presence of many other members of this community outside my family, I have been somewhat disconnected from the broader community as a whole. I have still had experiences and interactions with other community members through different mediums, such as through my family, friends, and church. I hope to strengthen my bond with the community as much as I can.

There are various topics regarding the Brazilian community in the United States that can be explored and written about, including cultural beliefs, the arts, and personal values. I think writing about the community and exploring topics around it are great ways of immersing myself more into the community, but also can be a valuable source of information for readers to learn more about it. The Brazilian American community is unique in that its culture is intertwined in two different countries’ cultures at the same time. Something I have in common with many Brazilian immigrants is the experience of having half my family in one country and half in another. This is something that impacts the community's culture significantly, giving it a strong value for familial bonds.

In addition to writing about Brazilian American culture, I intend to focus on recent issues concerning and effecting Brazilian Americans, such as the coronavirus pandemic, the 2020 presidential election, and immigration. I’m interested to look into the differences within the Brazilian community, and see where there are specific differences in things like political stances or cultural beliefs, especially compared to the rest of the United States. I think there are a lot of topics to discuss and viewpoints to write about within such a diverse community.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page