top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDr. V

Welcome!

Greetings, everyone! Welcome to section 55 of English Writing 1111, the First-Year Writing course at Northeastern University.


I won't regularly post information on the course blog like this (more likely, you'll get emails from me directly), but I wanted to make sure you all have a chance to test out your access to this platform and are able view the website prior to our first session.


Please take a look around here, email me if you have a question (don't be shy—someone else probably has it, too!), and make a note of where everything can be found on our course website. If you would like me to add features, clarify information, add directive links anywhere, etc., please just let me know. This site is a work in progress, and your input will be helpful.


Here are some things you will want to do before our first class meeting, which takes place on

Wednesday, September 9th, at 8.00am

  1. Familiarize yourself with the Guided Self-Placement instructions for the Writing Program. Before coming to class on our first day, write a 2-page letter in which you inform me of your goals and intentions for this course. Questions to ask yourself when writing this assignment can be found on the GSP instructions page.

  2. Since we will not all be meeting in a classroom together, please send me your letter by email before the start of class on Wednesday, Sept. 9th. You can send it as a Word .doc attachment or as a Google document to t.vestri@northeastern.edu.

  3. Please complete this Google Form (embedded below as well), which asks about your current technological access for the semester. Complete and submit your answers to this form by the time our first class meets.

To reduce the potential for technical hiccups on our first day, I will ask that everyone join us on Zoom remotely, from a location where you are able to socially distance without the use of masks. A dorm room or quiet lounge without other people in it would suit well. If you'll have difficulty accessing our first course meeting on Zoom in this manner, please let me know as soon as possible.


I will be available by email throughout the weekend, so please reach out and I will get back to you as soon as possible.


Welcome (or happy return) to Boston, to Northeastern, and to our Writing course! I look forward to meeting you all virtually very soon.


Best,

Professor Vestri (or Dr. V, your choice!)



204 views0 comments
bottom of page